You are here

Home About Us Organisations Central Ground Water Board Faridabad

Central Ground Water Board Faridabad

Central Ground Water Board (CGWB), is a multidisciplinary scientific organization with a mandate to " Develop and disseminate technologies and monitor and implement national policies for the scientific and sustainable development and management of India's ground water resources, including their exploration, assessment, conservation, augmentation, protection from pollution, and distribution, based on principles of economic and ecological efficiency and equity”.

CGWB being the national apex organization is vested with the responsibilities to carry out scientific studies , exploration aided by drilling , monitoring of ground water regime, assessment, augmentation, management and regulation of country’s ground water resources.

The major activities of the Board are as below:-

  • Ground water management studies.
  • Ground water exploration aided by drilling.
  • Monitoring of ground water observation wells for quantity and quality
  • Water supply investigations.
  • Periodic assessment of ground water resources.
  • Publication of maps and reports.
  • Scientific source finding
  • Construction of deposit wells
  • Hydro-chemical studies.
  • Geophysical studies.
  • Hydrological and hydro-meteorological studies.
  • Remote sensing studies.
  • Ground water pollution studies.
  • Ground water modeling studies.
  • Data storage and retrieval.
  • Water balance studies.
  • Artificial recharge & rainwater harvesting studies.
  • Studies on conjunctive use of ground water and surface water.
  • Training in activities related to ground water through Rajiv Gandhi National Ground Water Training and Research Institute.
  • Regulation of ground water development by CGWA.
  • Conducting awareness and water management training programmes.
  • Hydrology Project-II.
  • Research & Development

To View Organisation Chart Click here


Central Headquarters,Faridabad Regional Offices (18)

  1. North WestHimalayan Region,Jammu.
  2. North Himalayan Region, Dharamshala.
  3. North Western Region,Chandigarh
  4. Uttaranchal Region, Dehradun
  5. Northern Region,Lucknow
  6. Western Region, Jaipur
  7. Mid Eastern Region, Patna
  8. Eastern Region, Kolkata
  9. North Eastern Region, Guwahati
  10. West Central Region, Ahemdabad
  11. North Central Region,Bhopal
  12. North Central Chhatishgarh Region, Raipur
  13. South Eastern Region, Bhubaneshwar
  14. Central Region, Nagpur
  15. South Region,Hyderabad
  16. South Western Region,Bangalore
  17. South Eastern Coastal Region, Chennai
  18. Kerala Region, Trivendrum

Divisional Offices (17)

  1. Division-I, Ahemdabad
  2. Division-II, Ambala
  3. Division-III,Varanasi
  4. Division-IV, Chennai
  5. Division-V,Ranchi
  6. Division-VI,Nagpur
  7. Division-VII, Guwahati
  8. Division-VIII,Jammu
  9. Division-IX, Hyderabad
  10. Division-X, Bhubaneshwar
  11. Division-XI, Jodhopur
  12. Division-XII, Bhopal
  13. Division-XIII- Raipur
  14. Division-XIV, Bangalore
  15. Division-XV, Kolkata
  16. Division-XVI, Bareilly
  17. Division- XVII, Dharamshala
    State Unit Office (11)
    1. Delhi
    2. Belgaum
    3. Shillong
    4. Jodhpur
    5. Pune
    6. Agartala
    7. Ranchi
    8. Itanagar
    9. Allahabad
    10. Vishkhapattnam
    11.  Srinagar