Top Top
Home    :   Who's Who    :    Tenders   :   RFD   :   Citizens Charter   :   Press Releases    :    RTI    :   FAQ   :   Public Grievences   :   Feedback
Hindi Version

Printable Version  

icon  Krishna River Water Dispute Tribunal

1.       The Krishna Water Disputes Tribunal (KWDT) was constituted on 2nd April, 2004   for adjudication of the dispute relating to sharing of waters of Inter-State River Krishna and river valleys thereof.  Shri Justice Brijesh Kumar, Judge of Supreme Court of India (now retired) is the Chairman of the Tribunal and Shri Justice S. P. Srivastava, Judge of the Allahabad High Court (now retired) and Shri Justice D.K. Seth, Judge of the Kolkata High Court (now retired) are Members of the Tribunal. 


2.       The KWDT passed orders on June 9, 2006 on the Interim Relief Application filed by the party States of Maharashtra, Karnataka and Andhra Pradesh declining to give interim relief as sought in the application and at the same time indicating certain norm with a view to facilitate adjudication of the dispute before the Tribunal.  Subsequently, State of Andhra Pradesh filed Interlocutory Application under Section 5(3) of the ISRWD Act, 1956 seeking further explanation/guidance on the Order of the Tribunal of June 9, 2006.  The Tribunal in its hearing held in September and October, 2006 has framed 29 of issues for adjudication of the dispute before it.  Further hearing of the Tribunals is continuing.  The terms of tribunal has been extended up to 31st December, 2010 as per the provisions of ISRWD Act, 1956 and the tribunal is to give its decision & report by that time.



Upcoming Events
Brief activities performed by this Ministry and its Organisation from December 2013

Water Conservation Year 2013
Water Conservation year 2013
WRIS Website
Basin Maps         :             Download         :   Grievances Redress         :           Contact Us        :         Disclaimer